# **Maryland Commission for Women**

# **Meeting Minutes**

Thursday, October 17, 2024 5:00 p.m.

PK Law Offices, Towson, Maryland

### **Commissioners Attending:**

LaShaune Stitt, Chair

Christine Lee, Second Vice Chair

Pier Blake

Judith Emmel

Maggi Gaines

Linda Han

Sarah Ackerstein Klein

Brenda McChriston

Nykidra Robinson

Lenita Walker

Monica Watkins

## **Commissioners Absent:**

Patricia Lambert, First Vice Chair

Tawanda Bailey

Jonathon Carrington

Gloria Dent

Lauren Lambert

Maxine Somerville

Evelyne Steward

## **Staff Attending:**

Ariana Kelly, Executive Director

#### **Guest:**

N/A

# I. Call to Order......Commissioner LaShaune Stitt, Chair

The meeting was called to order at 5:00 p.m. Chair Stitt welcomed all Commissioners, presented the Commissioner survey results, and Commissioner Christine Lee led the Commissioners in an introduction exercise.

# II. Review of the MCW Statute, Bylaws, and the MCW Foundation...Commissioner Sarah Ackerstein Klein

Commissioner Klein led a review and discussion of the MCW statutory responsibilities, bylaws, and the role of the MCW Foundation.

#### **III.** Subcommittee Discussion

Chair Stitt led a discussion of the 2024/2025 subcommittees, and assignments were made. The two committees are Research, Policy, and Legislation chaired by Commissioner Lee and Advocacy, Outreach, Awards, and Recognition, chaired by Commissioner Pier Blake. The mission, goals, and statutory requirements of each subcommittee we reviewed.

A. Research Policy, and Legislation Committee Report:

- 1. Commissioner Lee moved to invite the Committee on Caregiving to present at the November meeting. Commissioner Klein seconded. Commission vote was unanimous.
- 2. Additionally, Commissioner Lee moved to select childcare as one of the 2025 policy priorities. Commission Klein seconded. Commission vote was unanimous.
- **B.** Advocacy, Outreach, Awards, and Recognition Committee Report:
  - 1. Commissioner Blake moved to request Government House for the Women's History Event. Commissioner McChriston seconded. Commission vote was unanimous.

## Respectfully submitted:

Ariana Kelly, Executive Director Maryland Commission for Women 11/08/24